Hockey World Blog

2016 Mike Richter Award Finalists Are Revealed

Richter Award

It’s nearing the end of the college hockey season and just before the NCAA Tournament begins next weekend, it’s time for awards to be handed out.

In it’s third year, the Mike Richter Award is awarded to the best goaltender in Division I. Candidates for the award will be determined by a vote of all NCAA Division I men’s head coaches. After that, the finalists and winner will then be selected by a selection committee of coaches, scouts and members of the media.

Criteria for the Mike Richter Award includes:

• Candidates must display outstanding skills on the ice
• Candidates should be in good academic standing at an NCAA college or university
• Consideration should be given to academic achievement and sportsmanship
• Candidates must comply with all NCAA rules, be full-time students at an NCAA college or university and complete 50 percent or more of the season
• Consideration should be given to the candidate’s activities in the community

Winnipeg prospect Connor Hellebuyck (UMass-Lowell) win the first award in 2014 and Boston prospect Zane McIntyre (North Dakota) won the award last season.

The five finalists are as follows:

  1. Kevin Boyle- Senior, UMass-Lowell. 22-8-5 record, 1.80 GAA, .934 Save Percentage.
  2. Thatcher Demko- Junior, Boston College. 25-6-4, 1.78, .938.
  3. Cam Johnson- Sophomore, North Dakota. 20-3-1, 1.58, .938.
  4. Charlie Lindgren- Sophomore, St. Cloud State. 28-8-1, 2.08, .926
  5. Alex Lyon- Junior, Yale. 19-7-4, 1.59, .938

Of the finalists, only Demko (Vancouver 2014 2nd round-36th overall) has been drafted. Lyon is arguibly the most decorated, with accolades including All-America and Hobey Baker finalist last season and a World Ju Championship bronze medal.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.